Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Can anyone help me

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Deborah

Deborah Report 12 Apr 2016 07:31

Hi all im new to building my family tree i have platinum subscription with baptism and parish records added i have found a record transcription for my great grandmother its her birth. But no where in that transcription it says who her parents are all i have is the number of the entry eg line number page number and volume i live in australia how can i access further records like view her proper birth certificate i would be glad of any help
Thanks Deborah

rootgatherer

rootgatherer Report 12 Apr 2016 08:09

Deborah, if you would like to give us the information that you have we may be able to help. It may be that GR may only have access to a transcript. Or if the birth was after 1837 it may only be the GRO indexes. If that's the case, then you would need to buy the certificate from the GRO to get the details.

Have you found you great grandmother on any census please? It may be possible to work out her parents that way.

Deborah

Deborah Report 12 Apr 2016 08:28

Hi Rootgatherer,