Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Deceased Aunt

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

illy

illy Report 11 Mar 2017 21:07

Apologies if this is in the wrong place , i am new to this.

I have recently been helping my ailing grandmother to trace her family tree. During this process she revealed to me that she had a daughter, who passed away shortly after birth in 1956. My grandmother suffered some very serious medical issues following the birth and as such has no idea what happened to her daughter.

The hospital in question is no longer open and i've had no luck finding burial or cremation records.
I do have copies of the birth and death registers.

Can anybody help as to how i would proceed here? my gran isnt in the best of health and her wish is to lay some flowers in memory of her little girl.

Than you all.

patchem

patchem Report 11 Mar 2017 22:14

This is from a quick google search, try for yourself for other general information:

http://www.brieflives-remembered.co.uk/page_2555949.html

also this:

https://www.sands.org.uk/sites/default/files/SANDS-TRACING-A-BABYS-GRAVE-OR-CREMATION%20RECORD_0.pdf

Shirley~I,m getting the hang of it

Shirley~I,m getting the hang of it Report 11 Mar 2017 22:43