Help Centre - Frequently Asked Questions


Complete FAQ Listing

My updates

My Updates are shown on your homepage and show you if any of your contacts have recently visited the site and made changes to their tree. We will also tell you if they have loaded a gedcom recently or posted on our message boards. You'll see which relations they have updated. You can click on the name of the relation and you'll be taken to the name in the other member's tree. This is a quick and easy way to see which new information has been added.

You will be shown updates from anyone whose tree you have access to. At the top of the list of names on the My Updates page you will also see a drop-down box. You can click on this and choose a name from the list to go straight to their updates. This is a list of every tree you have access to.

On the updates page you'll see a link that says 'privacy settings'. Here you can then select which updates, if any, you'd like to see. You can stop all updates if you wish, or you can view updates from everyone whose tree you have access to. If you prefer you can just view updates from certain members. On the privacy settings page you can select which members you'd like to get updates from by choosing 'yes' or 'no' then saving these changes at the bottom of the list.

If you'd prefer none of your contacts to see your updates then you can do this by going to the 'privacy settings' section on the updates page. You'll see the option 'Do not allow any members to receive updates of changes I have made to my tree or the Genes Reunited website'. Please select this and save it. None of your contacts will then see any of your updates.

Gift subscriptions

Genes Reunited gift subscription

Do you know someone interested in discovering their family history?

You can now buy a gift subscription to Genes Reunited so they can research their family tree.

Buy a gift or redeem your gift