Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

How to find death records?

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Klaus

Klaus Report 29 Dec 2022 19:48

I am fairly new to this. I am subscribed as a Platinum member to Genes Reunited. I cannot seem to find death records for anyone.

I am looking for people I know who have died in the last 30 years.

When I put the name and year in, nothing comes up. If I search for births and marriages for the same people they all come up.

What might I be doing wrong?

ErikaH

ErikaH Report 29 Dec 2022 20:21

The usefulness of GR lies in the paying members who give their time to help others

Use one of the the other FREE sites, such as the GRO for recent deaths, and freebmd for records from 1837 to approx 1985

ArgyllGran

ArgyllGran Report 29 Dec 2022 20:38

You also need to bear in mind that GR, GRO, and FreeBMD only show deaths which happened in England and Wales.

I don't know whether or not that's relevant to the deaths you're looking for.

For deaths in other countries, you need to use other sites.

Klaus

Klaus Report 29 Dec 2022 21:04

Thanks to @ErikaH and @ArgyllGran. Much appreciated! and yes I would be looking at just England and Wales. When you don't know something it can take quite a while to find out without help :)

nameslessone