Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Birth Certificate anomoly

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Carol

Carol Report 9 Nov 2014 14:54

Hi

I have been researching my Harmson family tree since 1990 on and off when time and funds have allowed. I have done well and got back quite far but recently I wanted to find out more about the people from my grandads generation. He was one of 10 surviving children and his eldest brother George was known as the black sheep of the family.
I sent of for the birth certificates of my grandads nieces who were brought up by their grandma when the mum died of Spanish flu in 1918. On the firsts daughters it states the fathers name as George Harmson, this is either the brother or the grandfathers name. On the mother name it says Blanche Harmson, formerly Harmson. I called the registry office to check and they read it all out and there is no mistake.
After around 1913, the time the first daughter was born George had very little to do with the family, he married in 1913 and had children with the wife then disappeared.
Has anyone else encountered anything like this? What could it mean?

Thanks

Carol

Shirley~I,m getting the hang of it

Shirley~I,m getting the hang of it Report 9 Nov 2014 15:00

sorry but this doesn't make much sense